International filmmakers descend on Brisbane

Early Winter

More than 50 international guests will fly into Brisbane to attend, speak at and support BAPFF screenings.

They include the likes of celebrated cinematographer Mark Lee Ping-bing, who will attend the screening of the Queensland premiere gala screening of The Assassin (Taiwan) at Palace Barracks on Friday 27 November, and legendary Australian director Rolf de Heer, who will introduce a newly-remastered, 21st anniversary version of Bad Boy Bubby, also at Palace Barracks on Wednesday 25 November.

Other international guests include the Chairwoman of the Turkish Guild of Film Producers and APSA Academy member Zeynup Özbatur Atakan, who produced the 2014 Cannes Palme d’Or winner Winter Sleep, Korean director Park Jung-bum, who will attend the screening of his film Alive (Republic of Korea) and Chinese director, producer and cinematographer Miaoyan Zhang, who will launch the Australian premiere of his film A Corner of Heaven (People’s Republic of China, France) this month.

Well-known Filipino Actress Shamaine Buencamino is scheduled to attend the screening of her new film Lorna (Philippines), while both the first-time director Ella Manzheeva and actress Evgeniya Mandzhieva, also an international fashion model, will be in the room for the Australian premiere of The Gulls (Russian Federation).

The significant international program includes 83 feature films, 9 shorts and 10 Virtual Reality works, from 42 countries and areas of the Asia Pacific.

APSA/BAPFF Film Director Maxine Williamson said the festival aimed to pay homage to the exceptional talent and artistry from a region that encompasses 70 countries and areas.

“Our program has representation from Egypt to Russia to the Pacific and includes award-winning cinema, festival gems, cult classics, restorations and masterpieces,” Ms Williamson said.

“This year sees the return of sections A Matter of Form and The Colours of Asia Pacific, along with a sophisticated international cultural program offering sections dedicated to Turkish, Malaysian, Hong Kong and Oceanic cinema.”